Scalevolt SCALEVOLT SHOP

Key facts

Nominal energy capacity2508 kWhVerified
Form factor10-foot all-in-one containerVerified
Grid-forming technologyVSGManufacturer claim
AC-DC integrationFactory pre-integratedManufacturer claim
InstallationPlug-and-play (manufacturer claim)Manufacturer claim

Who this product suits

A 2508 kWh containerized system with grid-forming (VSG) technology for large commercial, industrial, microgrid and utility-scale projects that have a project owner and a grid-code study.

Key limitationThe record does not state power rating, AC voltage, usable energy, IP rating, certifications, warranty or grid-code compliance. The system cannot be designed without them.

Limitations and what we do not know

Use cases and requirements

Grid-forming microgrid

The system claims grid-forming (VSG) operation, which may help maintain voltage and frequency in a microgrid or weak grid after parameters and grid code are confirmed.

Requirements

Grid-code study, dynamic model, black-start strategy, protection coordination and an islanded-operation plan.

Caveats

Grid-forming is a manufacturer claim. Actual behaviour depends on controls, settings and grid conditions.

Energy shifting at a large industrial site

The 2508 kWh block can shift energy and reduce peaks when the load profile and grid connection are well understood.

Requirements

Load profile, grid capacity, tariff, EMS and a business-case study.

Caveats

Power rating and efficiency are not stated in the current record; the business case needs manufacturer data.

Multi-unit scaling

The manufacturer claims scalability to hundreds of MW. This requires a multi-unit design, central control and grid approvals.

Requirements

Control architecture, communications, energy dispatch, redundancy and grid study.

Caveats

A scalability claim is not a design or a guarantee of performance at a specific site.

Will it work in my project?

RequirementStatusWhat it meansSource
Grid-forming (VSG) operationManufacturer claimThe datasheet/manufacturer claims grid-forming (VSG) technology. Scope, limits and grid-code compliance require confirmation.Manufacturer datasheet (EN)
Grid code and interconnectionRequires assessmentAC voltage, frequency, phase and grid-code requirements are not stated. An interconnection study is required.Scalevolt engineering review
PV and load forecastingManufacturer claimThe summary mentions PV/load forecasting and scheduling. Integration, inputs and interfaces are not stated.Product summary
Outdoor container / IPRequires assessmentA 10-foot container is stated, but IP rating and environmental limits are not. A project review is required.Manufacturer datasheet (current record)
Multi-unit scalingManufacturer claimClaimed scalability to hundreds of MW. Control architecture, communications and redundancy require a design.Manufacturer datasheet (EN)
Fire safetyNot specifiedSuppression system, layout requirements and fire certifications are not stated.Manufacturer datasheet (current record)

Technical data

Energy

ParameterValueStatusSource
Nominal energy capacity2508 kWhVerifiedManufacturer datasheet (EN)
Usable energyNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)

Installation

ParameterValueStatusSource
Form factor10-foot all-in-one containerVerifiedManufacturer datasheet (EN)
AC-DC integrationFactory pre-integratedManufacturer claimManufacturer datasheet (EN)
InstallationPlug-and-play (manufacturer claim)Manufacturer claimManufacturer datasheet (EN)

Grid

ParameterValueStatusSource
Grid-forming technologyVSGManufacturer claimManufacturer datasheet (EN)
ScalabilityHundreds of MW (manufacturer claim)Manufacturer claimManufacturer datasheet (EN)

Controls

ParameterValueStatusSource
PV and load forecastingYes (manufacturer claim)Manufacturer claimProduct summary
Energy schedulingIntelligent scheduling (manufacturer claim)Manufacturer claimProduct summary
Communication / SCADANot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)

Commercial

ParameterValueStatusSource
Lifecycle LCOE
Manufacturer marketing claim; not an independently verified project value.
Lowest lifecycle LCOE (manufacturer claim)Manufacturer claimProduct summary
WarrantyNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedCommercial terms not stated

Power and voltage

ParameterValueStatusSource
Power ratingNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)
AC voltageNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)

Environment

ParameterValueStatusSource
IP ratingNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)
DimensionsNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)
WeightNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)
Operating temperatureNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)

Compliance

ParameterValueStatusSource
CertificationsNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)

Battery

ParameterValueStatusSource
Cycle lifeNot specified by the manufacturerNot specifiedManufacturer datasheet (current record)

Buyer questions

What does grid-forming provide, and what does it not guarantee?

Grid-forming (VSG) may help maintain voltage and frequency and support islanded operation, but it does not guarantee grid-code compliance, black start or dynamic performance without a project study and manufacturer confirmation.

Source: Manufacturer datasheet + Scalevolt review

What is the power rating of this system?

The power rating is not stated in the current record. The 2508 kWh capacity alone does not determine the load that can be supplied.

Source: Manufacturer datasheet (current record)

Can it scale to hundreds of MW?

The manufacturer claims scalability to hundreds of MW. This requires a multi-unit design, central control, communications and grid approvals; the claim is not a performance guarantee.

Source: Manufacturer datasheet (EN)

Is 2508 kWh usable energy?

No. It is nominal capacity. Usable energy is not stated in the current record.

Source: Manufacturer datasheet (current record)

What are the certifications and warranty?

Certifications and warranty are not stated in the current record. CE, EPR/BDO, UN38.3 and market requirements must be confirmed before sale.

Source: Scalevolt compliance review

Documents and sources

DG2000 2508 kWh datasheet (EN)
datasheet · EN · Updated: 2026-11-05 · revision: not specified
Manufacturer datasheet

What the record does not state

Source: manufacturer_datasheet · Last reviewed: 2026-11-05 · Scalevolt catalogue review

Technical data is transcribed from the manufacturer datasheet and product summary. Marketing claims are labelled manufacturer_claim and gaps are marked not_specified.

Related guides

Containerized battery storage for a business: what to check before choosing

A containerized BESS is an electrical and logistics project, not just a battery purchase. This guide shows the data needed, how to compare 268, 1672 and 2508 kWh options, and what cannot be assessed without manufacturer documentation.

Grid-forming battery storage: what it changes and what it does not guarantee

Grid-forming (VSG) may help maintain voltage and frequency and support islanded operation, but it does not replace a grid-code study, protection design and project engineering. Here is what to ask the manufacturer and grid operator.

Containerized BESS buying checklist

Twelve questions to answer before ordering a containerized battery storage system — from usable energy and power, through certifications and grid code, to logistics and service.

Before you order

Product information only, not a system design. Grid connection, permits, fire safety, sizing and installation require a qualified engineer and installer.